Skip to main content



427. Covid shots

Just got my 3rd shot. Back in April when I was preparing to get #1, I did a heck of a lot of reading: Messenger RNA -- conceding my lack of real scientific knowledge -- seems to be a magnificent marvel of genetic engineering. My understanding is that the whole thing is enclosed in a lipid which is dissolved upon entering the bloodstread. When I held my arm out for that first shot, I flashed on a mental image of this scene from the 1966 film, Fantastic Voyage : I imagined the lipid dissolving and the mRNA molecule being immediately attacked by all my antibodies. ** Don't know if this is why I never had any reaction to all three shots. Not even a sore arm. P.S. Thanks to my scientist brother for the real info (in FB comments) …

Latest Posts

426. Interview with David Ocker (2021)

425. Why Coca-Cola can never seem to get it right.

424. Criterion Collection

423. "Now God Remembered Rachel" -- Theme & Variations for solo violin by Lewis Saul [Program Notes]

422. Kurosawa's most underrated (or underappreciated) film

421. It was 48 years ago today

420. Palindromic Assemblage

419. Frank Cappelli